Certification Program

NEMIC administers the mechanical acceptance test certification program through ICB/TABB. Acceptance Test Technicians are building specialists trained and certified by Acceptance Test Technician Certification Providers (ATTCPs).

Who are ICB/TABB-Certified Mechanical Acceptance Test Technicians?

ICB-certified Mechanical Acceptance Test Technicians (MATTs) are building mechanical specialists trained and certified by NEMIC in its role as a CEC-approved Mechanical Acceptance Test Technician Certification Provider (ATTCP). MATTs conduct the required acceptance tests, submit results and certificates to enforcement agencies and are employed by contractors that meet NEMIC eligibility requirements. Contractors providing Mechanical Acceptance Test services must also employ at least one individual certified as a Mechanical Acceptance Test Employer by the NEMIC ATTCP.

NEMIC has been approved by the California Energy Commission to certify contractors and technicians to conduct acceptance tests of building mechanical systems including:

  • Outdoor Air Ventilation Systems
  • Supply Fan Variable Flow Controls
  • Hydronic System Variable Flow Controls
  • Air Economizer Controls
  • Constant Volume, Single Zone Unitary Air Conditioners and Heat Pumps
  • Demand Control Ventilation Systems
  • Others
For a complete listing of all the required acceptance tests
please consult Chapter 13 of the Nonresidential Compliance Manual.

Why train and certify personnel to conduct these tests?

Training and certification are new requirements. They were put into place to address the low historical effectiveness of testing nonresidential building mechanical systems due to construction trades not being uniformly familiar with equipment and methods used to conduct tests.